Near the hotel you can find many attractions and sights, such as the following:
The village of Kastro lies a distance of just 6 km from the hotel. It takes its name from Chlemoutsi Castle (Kastro being the Greek word for castle) that sits atop a 250 m high hill in the village. The castle was built by the Frankish lord Geoffrey II of Villehardouin. It was one of the most important castles in the Peloponnese and its fortifications are unique. Today the village is home of a range of cultural events (piano recitals, concerts by leading Greek composers and singers, theatrical performances) held on summer evenings, offering visitors unique memories of their stay.
CHURCH OF PANAGIA KATHOLIKI AT GASTOUNI
The church lies 7 km from the hotel. The Byzantine Church of Panagia Katholiki at Gastouni is a two-columned inscribed cruciform church dating from the 12th century. It has a semi-hexagonal apse, dome with eight-sided drum and a narthex at the west side. The walls, with panels of reticulate tiling and double layers of tiles at the joins, are embellished with a plain ceramic decoration, especially dentil courses, and with embedded glazed bowls. The unique Frankish influence of the 14th century is seen in the pointed arch of the north doorway, now blocked. The later addition of an exonarthex (outer porch) and large doorway openings are the only few changes that have been made to the original form of the building. Two layers of wall paintings are preserved on the interior. The second layer is dated by an inscription to the year 1702 and was made with funds contributed by Ioannikios the bishop of Olene. A second inscription of the same period referring to the donors of the church and giving the date of building as 1279, refers in all likelihood to the earlier donors' inscription.
PANAGIA ELEOUSA MONASTERY
The monastery lies 3 km from the hotel and is located in the village of Lygia. Since Christians were at great risk of attack by pirates during the Byzantine period, the discovery of the icon of the Virgin (the Panagia Eleousa) was taken as an important sign and the monastery was built on this site in the 9th century AD. The feast day of the Virgin is celebrated on 30 and 31 August each year with religious ceremonies and a major celebration. Visitors are also recommended to attend mass celebrated in accordance with the Byzantine rite at the monastery over the Easter period.
PANAGIA VLACHERNA MONASTERY
Just some 12 km from the hotel lies Panagia Vlacherna Monastery, which is well worth the visit. The exact date when the monastery was founded remains unconfirmed. However, various historical sources put its founding somewhere in the 13th century AD. The monastery is home to the relics of various saints and its library contains displays of various historical documents and Patriarchal manuscripts. Today the monastery is an important charitable organisation providing accommodation for many elderly people in its Old People’s Home.
The feast day of the monastery is 8 September each year when religious ceremonies are accompanied by a celebratory party.
PINIOS DAM & RESERVOIR
The dam lies 20 km from the hotel. The Pinios Dam is one of Europe’s largest dams standing at 50 m tall and is some 2,175 m long. The reservoir covers an area of 21 million m2. The dam and reservoir are around 20 km inland, close of the village of Kentro. The foundations were laid in 1961 and construction work was completed in 1968.